Announcers get the judges decisions incorrect and the wrong fighter is called the winner

Humans make mistakes, including MMA announcers. And this time, the mistake was broadcast live on UFC Fight Pass.

Anthony Parham Jr. was facing the more experienced Ysidro Gutierrez in a three-round featherweight bout at Fury FC 66 last Friday in Visalia, California.

Parham was trying to get the first win in his professional career while Gutierrez was looking forward to getting one back in the win column. Gutierrez last fought at Urijah Faber’s A1 Combat 2 in May, losing by submission to Jaleon Reid.

In the prelims of the stacked card, the two faced each other in Visalia Convention Center. The fight was very competitive. Both Parham and Gutierrez were visibly unsure as to who the winner was by the end of the bout.

After full three rounds, the fight went to the scorecards. The announcer then read it 29-28 for Gutierrez, 29-28 for Parham, and 30-27 for the winner Gutierrez. Parham then clapped for a while, respecting the decision.

The result was a bit confusing for the commentators considering they believed that Gutierrez was at least down by two rounds.

While the ‘winning’ fighter jumped around in excitement, the announcer got called to cage side. After some confusion, he got back to the center of the cage and said “Let’s do it again”.

In the middle of the confusing situation, the announcer read the scorecards again. The previously excited Gutierrez then went silent, and Parham shook his hand.

This time the announcer read it 29-28 Parham, 29-28 Gutierrez, and 30-27 Parham. With this official result, Parham won the bout via split decision. Parham then approached Gutierrez to give his counterpart another respectful hug.

With the victory, Parham improved his record to 2-1 with all his fights ending in split decisions. While Gutierrez fell to 5-5 in his pro career.