Scott Manhardt is a MMA referee who has been working for the better part of the last ten years. Manhardt was presiding over an MMA team match between Mexico and Ireland at MMA Supercup in Bahrain.
Still that doesn’t diminish the fact that referee Manhardt took quite a hit accidentally.
He received an astonishing flying kick from the Mexican competitor. As you can see in the video, the kick left him on his back.
The referee shared his thoughts on the incident after due to the fact that some observers seemed to blame him for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Manhardt described receiving the kick to the head. He said: “It was just an explosive accident as well that doesn’t surprise me and the video they used, that a lot of the sites used, was the replay.”
“And the replay had the commentary talking, but not the horn. So there was a lot of comments about, ‘He was in the wrong position, why was he so close?’ Things like that and it just is what it is. I can’t control the narrative.”
“By far, that was the craziest thing that has ever happened to me in the cage, one in a million chance.
“I had to be where I had to be because it was the end of the round, I have to be prepared to separate them if needed. And he happened to throw the strike just as the horn was going. So it is what it is.”
“So by far that was the craziest thing that that happened.”
Ruler of Bahrain is a longtime patron of MMA. Besides the local promotion, he’s also sponsored Mohamad Mokaev and reportedly gave him a huge bonus after his last victory.